

SHHS ALUMNI ASSOCIATION • P.O. BOX 14415 • ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76094 • WWW.SHHSTEXANS.ORG

January 14, 2015 Location: Angelo's

- Bob Callas: Welcome/Call to order
- Brenda Allen: Minutes
 - Karen Fox motions to approve, Judy Thomas seconds
- Laura Heymann: Treasurer's Report
 - o Claudia Perkins motions to approve, Jayme Thomas seconds
- Mr. Benavides
 - o Positive news to share
 - STEM
 - Football Banquet 1/29
 - DACA meeting
- Brenda Allen
 - Voting Eligibility
 - In order to vote in the elections tonight you must be a paid 2014 member in good standing and attended at least three alumni meetings or events.
- Michael Mullen
 - Election Bylaws, from bylaws adopted 10.8.14
 - ARTICLE V. ELECTION OF OFFICERS: Section 4. Any SHHS alumni in good standing may vote in the election for Board of Directors, if they have attended three (3) alumni meetings or events, in the prior school/calendar year. All persons voting in any election must be present. Absentee voting is not permitted.
- Claudia Perkins
 - o Presents Slate
 - The Nominating Committee consists of 5 volunteer members who were selected at the November General meeting. The committee chair, Claudia Perkins, presented the candidate slate last night at the December 10th Alumni Meeting & Christmas Party.
 - President: Darla Peznell
 - Vice President: Open
 - Secretary: Open
 - Treasurer: Judy Thomas
 - Parliamentarian: Melynda Brooks Merrifield
 - Public Relations Chair: Brenda Allen Wolf
 - Social Chairman: Becky Walker Phillips
- Bob Callas
 - Election Procedures
 - Tellers Committee: Claudia Perkins, Laura Heymann, Bud Schwab
 - Conduct Elections
 - Nominations from the floor
 - Michael Ledford is nominated for President
 - Judy Thomas is nominated for Vice President, resigns from Treasurer slate
 - Sheila Ivy Young nominated for Vice President
 - Nicia Harrison nominated for Treasurer

- Kylie Hill nominated for PR Chair
- Sheila Ivy Young nominated for Vice President
- Jay Thomas nominated for Parliamentarian
- Michael Ledford nominated for Social Chairman
- All nominees speak to those in attendance
- Darla Peznell
 - o Cinderella Ball
 - First candidate sine 2004
 - Escorted by Noah Newhouse
 - Donations go towards Boys & Girls Club
 - Longest running charity event in Arlington
 - Donations are tax-deductible
- Brenda Allen
 - o In-Kind Donation Receipts are available if you donated any items or services
- Laura Heymann
 - Monetary Donation Receipts
 - o 2015-16 Memberships are up for sale and can be purchased in person or online
- Claudia Perkins
 - Election Results
 - Nicia Harrison motions for simple majority, Melynda Merrifield seconds. Motion carries with two abstaining (Karen Fox & Brenda Dietrich)
 - The final votes were counted and here is your 2015-16 Board Members. This new board will go into effect on February 1, 2015.
 - President: Darla Peznell c/o '82
 - Vice-President: Judy Thomas c/o '65
 - Secretary: Brenda Allen Wolf c/o '98
 - Treasurer: Nicia Harrison c/o '08
 - Public Relations Chair: Kylie Hill c/o '97
 - Parliamentarian: Melynda Merrifield c/o '75
 - Social Chairman: Becky Walker Phillips c/o '82
- Questions/Concerns?
- Adjournment

2015-16 Memberships will be available for purchase following the meeting!

SAVE THE DATES!

February Alumni Meeting

Where: Angelo's 2590 W. Pioneer Pkwy, Pantego, TX 76013

When: Time 7pm, Wednesday, February 11th

SHOP AMAZON SMILE FOR THE HOLIDAYS!

Amazon will donate 0.5% of the price of your eligible AmazonSmile purchases to **Sam Houston High School Alumni Association** whenever you shop on AmazonSmile.

- AmazonSmile is the same Amazon you know. Same products, same prices, same service.
- Support SHHS Alumni by starting your shopping at smile.amazon.com.